top of page
Search
  • katielove16

Maybe 2022 will be the year of racing

So I am back to mending my 6th clavicle break 3 months after having the plate out , However it is not as simple as just drinking Nestlé and eating 10 tons of yogurt , there are other things going on , Normally I have done something cool to gain a clavicle fracture , like snowboarding down a black run or throwing snowballs ….apparently ! , but no a little jump into water snapped it - truth is I have also broken my finger in water , swimming is not safe for me.


At least I only had about 2 miles of solid off roading followed by another 4hrs in the van before the flight from Iceland to Gatwick to go - if you have ever broken your clavicle you know what I mean




However although it is another story to add to my ever growing list this should never have happened , it seems the latter half of 2021 isn't for me either.


Now back on home soil I start a new chapter of causing chaos in our ever amazing NHS , Not only do I continue to have Mr Edwards a pretty brilliant Consultant Vascular Surgeon looking after me I have also gained Mr Guryel a Consultant orthopaedic & trauma surgeon and all those behind the scenes helping me get back on the bike and racing again.


I would be lying if I said that I have been ok truth is it has been bloody hard , not knowing really what has caused this to happen , not being able to ride without my arm loosing grip and the pain increasing - a bit like the feeling of your arm expanding ( like super DOMs on steroids') , seeing my well earned category 2 race license



slip away and learning to deal with emotions in a different way , upper body muscles disappearing leading to my joints moving around and fitness becoming more like that of a unwell snail in the desert , Now we head into autumn I wonder when I will be able to get outside again and train hard.

As frustrating as it is I know one day , with Mr Edwards and Mr Guryel by my side , this will get better and I will race again.








25 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page